James Madison University

CSPA Calendar

CSPA Interview Dates:

  • February 2, 2018
  • February 9, 2018
  • February 12, 2018
  • February 16, 2018
PHOTO:CSPA Class of 2016  End-of-Year Celebration
CSPA 2018 Cohort

Professional Development


The Professional Development Series has been implemented to provide opportunities for CSPA students to expand their learning experiences. Attendance and participation are required and considered in determining the student's grade for the practicum course. All part-time students must meet this requirement under the direction of their adviser.

Assistantship and practicum schedules should not interfere with these professional development sessions. Please coordinate this with your respective supervisors. If you are unable to attend a workshop, you must contact your CSPA adviser. You may be required to attend an additional workshop or write a related paper on the subject missed.

Please mark the following dates on your calendar for Professional Development.

Fall 2017

Meeting Date/Time/Location  Topic
Speaker/Presenter
Group
Monday, Aug. 14
12pm-4pm
Student Success Center 4044
Orientation - All
Lunch Following
All
Thursday, Aug 17
8:30am-5pm
Madison Union Ballroom
New Graduate Student Orientation
Dr. Jie Chen
1st yrs
Monday, Sept. 4
10am-12pm
Madison Union 203
Navigating Practica
Tracy Hakala 
1st yrs
Thursday, Sept. 7
8am, Festival Ballroom
SAUP Divisional Meeting
Dr. Mark Warner
All
Monday, Sept. 11
9am-12pm
UREC
UREC TEAM Challenge All
Monday, Sept. 25
10am-12pm
Madison Union 304
Dealing with Students in Crisis: A Dean’s Office perspective presented by: Dr. Josh Bacon and Ms. Gloria Mast 1st yrs
Monday, Sept. 25
10am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Legal Issues: Landscapes in Higher Education by: Jack Knight 2nd yrs
Monday, October 2
10am-12pm
Memorial Hall Rm 7215
Qualtrics Training
Amiee Stright
1st yrs
Monday, Oct. 2
10am-12pm
Madison Union 203
Fundraising and Financial Landscape in Higher Education
Weston Hatfield
2nd yrs
Monday, October 16
10am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Ethics Game
Dave Barnes
All
Friday, Oct. 20
CSPA Program Committee Lunch
D Hub 12 noon
CSPA Program Committee All
Monday, Oct. 23
10am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Supervising Students: Chris Ehrhart, Assistant Dir. for the LGBTQ & Ally Education Program 1st yrs
Monday, Oct. 23
10am-12pm
Madison Union 304
Cover Letters & Resumes
Tracy Hakala
2nd yrs
Monday, Oct. 30
10am-12pm
Madison Union 304
Myers-Briggs
Hugh Brown
1st yrs
Monday, Nov. 6
10am-11am
Madison Union 203
Assistantships and Practicums 
Tracy Hakala 
1st yrs
Monday, Nov. 6
10am-11am
Madison Union 206
Portfolio Motivation
Maggie Evans
2nd yrs
Monday, Nov. 6
11am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Portfolio Introduction
Maggie Evans
1st yrs
Monday, Nov. 13
10am – 12pm
Madison Union 304
What you need to know about Discrimination, Harassment and Title IX  Jenny Toth, HR Consultant 1st yrs
Monday, Nov. 13
10am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Title IX
Amy Sirocky- Meck
2nd yrs
November 15-17
Wintergreen Resort
VSSC Conference
Annual Conference
Optional
Monday, Dec. 4
10am-1:30pm
(Lunch included)
Madison Union 256
Assistantship Presentations & Lunch with Site Supervisors First Years Only
Friday, Dec. 8
9am-12pm & 1pm-4pm
Supervisor Offices
Assistantship Interviews First Years Only

Spring 2018

Meeting Date/Time/Location  Topic/Speaker/Presenter Group
Wednesday, January 3 - Friday, January 5
8:30am-5:00pm
Lakeview Room TBD
Assessment 101  1st yrs required
2nd yrs optional
Wednesday, Jan. 17
11am-12pm
Madison Union 304
Summer Practicum Experience & Skype, Social Media Interview Preparation
Tracy Hakala
1st yrs 
Friday, Jan. 19
CSPA Program Committee Lunch
D-Hub 12noon
CSPA Committee Lunch All
Friday, Jan. 26
8:30am-12:00pm
Madison Union 404
MASPA
Hugh Brown 
2nd yrs
Wednesday, Feb. 14
10am-11am
Madison Union 304
Student Affairs 
Dr. Mark Warner
2nd yrs
Wednesday, Feb. 14
11am-12pm
Madison Union 304
Student Affairs 
Dr. Mark Warner
1st yrs
March 3-7
Philadelphia, PA
NASPA Annual Conference Optional
Wednesday, March 14
8am-4pm
Festival Conference Center
JMU Annual Diversity Conference
Workshops
All
March 11-14
Houston, TX
ACPA Annual Conference Optional
Wednesday, April 4
10am-12pm
Madison Union 206
Resiliency
Dr. David Onestak
1st yrs
Wednesday, April 4
10am-12pm
Madison Union 203
Benefits, Salary and Onboarding
JMU HR Team
2nd yrs
Wednesday, April 18
10am-12pm
Madison Union 203
Transition
Josh Bacon
1st yrs 
Wednesday, April 18
10am-12pm
Madison Union 306
Transition
Panel 
2nd yrs 
Friday, April 20
CSPA Program Committee Lunch
D-Hub 12noon
CSPA Committee Lunch All

Orientation


CSPA Orientation for both 1st and 2nd years will be held on Monday, August 14, 2017, 12:00-4:00 in Student Success Center Room 4044.

Fall Library Orientation


For assistance with the library, contact Michael Mungin, Psychology Librarian. http://www.lib.jmu.edu/psychology/default.aspx

Practicum Class


Each student (full and part time) must attend the practicum class during one spring semester of their academic career. It is preferable you attend the class during the spring semester in which you are involved in an actual practicum. You will register for this course, PSYC 696, during your last semester. Class dates coming soon.